top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsha Miller

The Power of Decision: To Be or NOT to Be...

Updated: Aug 16, 2020

One of my all time favorite messages is from the series “7 Steps to a Turn Around: Decisions”. Everyday we have the opportunity to make a decision. To go up MLK blvd or tun on Bexar Street. Do I travel north on Cooper or take Bowen Road to Davis and turn right to get to campus. Take the promotion or do a lateral transfer. Is it worth it? Who knows? A decision is required though…


One of the things I’ve found when I’m faced with making a major decision is if I make the decision, how will my peace be affected. I’ve heard the statement, “Anything that costs your peace is too expensive” The older I’ve gotten, the more I have embraced and live by this mantra. To thine ownself be true. That is the base foundation from which I begin many of my choice; ESPECIALLY major decisions. I have to know that if I do make THIS decision, can I live with it? The good; the bad and the ugly. That’s why I’m a SLOW mover. Before I sign on the dotted line of any decision; whether that’s taking in a new friend; accepting a job or joining an organization how will my peace be affected. Can I calibrate my life to accommodate the emotional toll it will take? Every decision we make will require a toll and those tolls must be paid often; whether daily, monthly, quarterly or annually. Even our friendships and relationships are an investment.






Lately I’ve been faced with some realities. My life has changed…drastically…. I didn't see this ten years ago. The seat I’m sitting in was foreign to me on August 12, 2010. It wasn’t even an inkling of a thought in my mind. Now, I’ve come to accept this road. We have the power to change just about anything in our lives. One of the major things I’ve had to change in my life now is my perception of the present. How I process the emotions of any given moment. If I cannot change the circumstance, my response is in my hands.

As I began to wind down for the evening yesterday, I began to reflect. For several years I've wanted to make a personal enhancement. In June 2018, I took a step towards it. It was a decision I'd been wanting to leap into for a long time so I set the appointment for a consultation. After the consultation, I was on the verge of going forward with it. Then life happened and I didn't get to do it at that time. However, the desire never left my heart but stayed in the back of my mind. I’ll let you in on a little secret… We all want to change or enhance something about ourselves physically. No one on earth is exempt. It’s the human condition; we tend to see the imperfections no matter how perfectly God sees us. We’ve not quite gotten that revelation.


Now, fast forward 22 months...I did it! I made the decision; I made the investment with time and money. I’m happy that I did make the decision because I've been wanting to do it for quite some time. I’m in the home stretch now and we will see the finished product soon enough. Now for about 6 months, I'll talk with a slight lisp for 18-22 hours a day, but hey who’s counting lol...




Then there's the thing that most people (especially women) are often concerned about fitness, health weight and nutrition. Let me stop you here…not…one…woman…on…the…planet…sees her body and weight as perfect. Generally, we always see something we can work on or would like to change. And if she does see it as perfect, she works VERY hard to keep it that way. For most of my life I've been thin, people often mistake being thin with the belief "you don't need to workout". PUHLEASE!! I applaud every person who puts in the work to maintain their health and fitness. The older we get the more our metabolism slows and metabolism does not discriminate. #QuarantinePounds are REAL and I don't like them. Last month, one of my relatives said to me babygirl I'm not sure what's going on around your mid-section... *clutches pearls*, I was in disbelief and kinda sad.




From that point on, I made a decision. I was committed to change it! NOT FOR THEM though... But for me!! I deserve to feel great! I deserve to be in the shape I want to be. I deserve to have a metabolism that serves me and not destroys me...I also owe it to myself to see the things about Isha that I don't quite prefer and CHANGE THEM! I owe it to me to sacrifice 30 mins to an hour of sleep 5 days a week to exercise. I owe it to myself to watch what I eat, reduce the amount of fatty foods I eat and decrease my portion size. Let's face it; who loves WORKING OUT?! (Well my BESTIE does, but I digress... She's one in a million and she’s AMAZING). I know losing stubborn pounds isn't easy for everyone, but I've always kept in the back of my mind, unwelcome weight is like the holiday guest that refuses to leave when the cake is all gone.




(SIDE NOTE: I love my big brother!! Always my PROTECTOR and ENCOURAGER to make good DECISIONS!)

STEPS TO MAKING A SOUND DECISION

YOU CAN STICK WITH


1. Start small.

2. Do it when you don’t feel like it.

3. Give yourself a break.

4. Ignore the noise in the market.

5. Connect with forward thinking people.

6. Decide that YOU MATTER.

7. Treat yourself

Don’t bite off more than you can chew. You won’t remain committed if you do. Don’t be so hard yourself. People are going to talk. Let them. You’re not perfect. When we look around us, always remember, our lives reflect the five people we spend the most time with. Spend  time with forward thinkers and don't forget to reward YOU, but not so much that you fall off the wagon tomorrow.

WoMan…NO CHANGE CAN HAPPEN WITHOUT A DECISION. You have the power to make it…NO ONE ELSE! So decide today and then follow through on whatever decision you make. It may be hard. It may not come easily. But do it and stick with it. YOU ARE WORTH IT!






76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page