top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsha Miller

Don't Forget The Cilantro

Updated: May 18, 2020


I do it all the time...I forget the cilantro. Metaphorically speaking, you know, the thing you just love; it adds unique flavor to your life; you value it and believe it goes with just about anything. Yes! That person or thing! I must admit shamefully often, I forget to give the time and attention to those areas of my life. What does that say about me? Some may say that makes me selfish. Or, perhaps absentminded? Maybe, just too busy or all of the above. I don't quite believe that's true in full. I do believe however, that this is just a part of the human condition…especially as a WoMan.


WHAT IS CILANTRO?

Cilantro is the delicate leaf from the coriander plant. To me, it is one of the most unique tasting herbs in all creation. It’s fun, fleeting and refreshing. In volume two of Quarantine Chronicles, I talked about my aunt and I gardening. We bought flowers, plants and vegetables. My favorite was the veggies…because I LOOOOVE TO EAT. Besides I’m not much of a fan of laboring and not getting fruit from my labor. Gardening is HARD WORK just as cultivating the fruit we should produce in our lives is hard work. 


When we get busy caring for everything and everyone else, we can tend to overlook the delicate things that should help bring balance; like time alone to recuperate and refuel ourselves. I don't think that life can ever truly be balanced though, yet we often seek to make it so. In my opinion, we can try all we want to balance everything, but we generally end up learning how to manage our imbalance.




As my aunt and I were shopping for things to plant, I was drawn to the cilantro. To me, it’s such a unique taste and adds a bit of flare to any dish. However, when we picked it up, it was so measly and worn and looked like it was on its last leg. Just a few strands were hanging on, but there were signs of life. most of it was brown and limp and hanging out and over the pot. It looked like it was dying.

The mother’s heart in me picked it up and said come on, let’s go home I’ll help you find your way back to life. As we began to plant it, I’d mapped out the spot right next to my cucumbers and tomatoes. I was so happy that my cilantro would be joining the family…my heart was beaming and bouncing! We read the instructions for both the of its siblings (the tomatoes and cucumbers). They were so robust in nature and ready to go in the ground and get to work bringing in their offspring.


I called my Daddy to get more instructions because he’s a master gardener . He would know just what to do to help me raise my little guys to be fruitful. He carefully instructed me on what to do with the cucumbers. I didn’t trust those instructions on that package. I trusted my daddy. I bought seeds…I didn’t want anything already grown. I didn’t care how long it took before I saw fruit, I would go through the process. The tomatoes were ok and the vines were thriving even before we planted them.


The instructions for the cucumbers and tomatoes said to plant and place in sunlight…for six to eight hours a day… excited, we planted away…all on the side of the house that would get the most sunlight during the day. We made space for the cilantro only to find out it ONLY required four to six hours of sunlight a day…yikes what were we to do. I scoured about looking for a new place for the cilantro…


I found a spot far on the other side of the yard in the most delicate place and nestled it into the ground. My Aunt and I were beaming with excitement as we sat and looked at our handiwork; we were so proud looking at the plants, tomatoes and cucumbers. Then as if it was a recording in both of our heads at the same time we looked at each other and said... 


DON’T FORGET THE CILANTRO...


Everyday, it is important that we don't forget the "cilantro" in our lives…the most delicate parts...don’t forget about YOU. You’ve taken care of the kids, you’ve taken care of your husband you’ve taken care of your ailing mother and, your aging dad who needs your attention…the job that demands more and more of you everyday…but don’t forget about you. You are valuable. You are unique and add a flare to everything. You are like the cilantro…Your very essence is precious; not overbearing, not too strong but just enough for where you are to be. You will leave a mark that can’t be erased so don’t forget the cilantro because the world needs you...

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page