top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsha Miller

Moving...Yet, Still.


If you want to be more beautiful…Heal.


What does that look like…healing? What does healing feel like? What does healing sound like? For each person it’s different. For one person, it’s peace of mind. For another, it’s stability. For another, it’s wholeness.


When it all comes together though, you will know that it’s happening. Sometimes when you’re healing, you can feel stagnant, like you’re moving…yet still. Truthfully though, there’s no reason in today’s society to live this life broken, because help is available. It’s no longer taboo to own your brokenness or to admit that you NEED HELP.


As a matter of fact, I believe it’s one of the most beautiful things a person can do for themselves. Admitting and seeking help when they need it without shame. Your physical and emotional health are an important part of wholeness and the journey towards healing begins with realizing you are broken. That starts from the inside out. It’s often a silent process that many people can’t see. An unhealed soul can at first appear whole…but upon taking a closer look, you’ll see the cracks in the crevices of the foundation. It is wise to then seek what I call the...5 KEYS TO HEALING

Key 1: GET HELP

That fateful day in May 2018 when I walked into Mesa Springs and simply said “I Need Help. Something is wrong with me”, was when my healing process began. It was hard to admit. It was difficult to own. But I knew that if I didn’t do it then, I was really going to be in trouble. I was losing it. The house of cards that I’d built was crumbling and falling apart. I believed and trusted in God and His plan for my life. My faith in Him was strong. I had spiritual insight. I also had wisdom enough to realize that I needed to reach out to get myself together and find peace. In the wake of my brokenness lie a family in shambles; broken beyond repair.


Nevertheless, it was at that time that I realized no one else was to blame for the state of my emotional and physical health. My heart and soul were in disrepair. Recently, I saw a story about former NBA Basketball player for the Dallas Mavericks Delonte West. Once a millionaire and well-known professional athlete, now homeless and panhandling. Why? Because the unfortunate truth is that fame, fortune and chasing the bag are not a cure for a broken soul. For me, it was important having my extended family, my faith and my friends. They have also been a rock that I have been able to lean on for hope, laughter and strength. The scales had to be removed from my eyes before I could see the beauty.

Key 2: GET BALANCE




We can seek balance all we want, but generally we actually end up balancing our imbalance. If we allow ourselves to believe that each of these 4 areas gets 25% of us, we do them all a disservice. Our Family, Job, Physical and Emotional Health, Spiritual Well-Being at any given time in our lives will require more attention than another area. There was a time when I experienced the attempt to live a balanced life. Then I found when I gave my family 25%, they suffered because in my heart they were the most important..



One day, my nephew came to my place to hang some wall decor. I was working from home in my living room and I watched him carefully take measurements and hang the decorations on the wall in my dining area. After he finished measuring the first one, he began to mount the second one using the same measurements as the first. After he finished mounting the second portrait, he realized it was about an inch and a half higher than the other one. The measurements were right, but clearly what our eyes saw said it was not balanced. In order to create balance in those pictures, there had to be an imbalance in the measurements and so it is with life.

Key 3: GET QUIET...

Sometimes, just say nothing...



Don’t explain.

Don’t justify.

Don’t apologize.

Just be quiet...


In the time of quietness, allow your heart and soul to manifest what is truly there. If it’s not whole, you will know. Evidence of brokenness shows in discontentment. Thinking that if you had something else, you would be alright. If your life was in another place, you’d be ok. If you made more money, had different friends, dissolved your relationship…your life would be great. May I let you in on a little secret? All of those things are lies that we tell ourselves to ease the pain of a discontented soul.


For years, my mentor would tell me that I was a discontented woman. I rejected the notion because I didn’t know how to fix it. Actually, I did know how to fix it, but I didn’t want to. I was afraid of the process. The patchwork I had been doing on my life seemed to be tiding me over until the next moment of internal crisis. Then the blame game began. After I began my process of healing though, I learned that it was no one’s business that I’d decided to fix me. I got quiet and let the work begin.

Key 4: GET INFORMED (Read. Study. Join groups)



This was one my topmost helpful things. I used Audible, an audio book service to hear and get equipped. Knowledge is power. Without it, we are helpless in the fight to live a fruitful life. The next thing I did was join online groups and read articles that spoke to the issues I was facing. I found out, I wasn’t alone. There are more people who have faced challenges similar or worse than mine who can share stories that help with the healing process. The bible says to study to show yourself approved. There is no shame in that.

Key 5: GET DOCTOR'S ORDERS (Listen & Obey)


Listen…what the doctor tells you to do, follow the instructions. Research, of course, to see any adverse side effects, however, it’s important to note that starting on a health regimen is critical to your physical and emotional well being. . Whatever that includes, whether it’s to exercise, take daily vitamins or medications, and talk to a professional. There is nothing wrong with that. It’s important.

I believe that these 5 keys helped me along my healing journey and thought they’d be helpful to you along yours. Everyone’s process to healing is different but I do believe these keys will be most helpful to anyone will implement them. I’m cheering for you.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page